2018-06-27 / Front Page

Runoff advance voting begins July 2

Advance voting

Early voting for the July 24 runoff election begins Monday, July 2 and continues through July 20.

Ballots must be cast in person 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday - Friday at the Registrar’s Office at 17 McDonald Ave. in Blakely.

Voters must select either a Republican or Democratic ballot based on which they chose during the May 22 primaries. Voters who did not vote in the primary can vote in the runoff.

Voters are reminded to bring a valid photo ID when voting.

Voters return to the polls next month for the July 24 runoff elections in races that were not settled in the May 22 Primary elections.

Superior Court Judge

In addition to the statewide runoff races on the ballot in Early County, Henry Balkcom and Charles “Chip” Stewart will be facing off to determine who will be the next Superior Court Judge of the Pataula Judicial Circuit. Balkcom led the four candidates with 2,580 (33.47%) votes. Stewart had 2,289 (29.69%) votes.

Republican runoffs

The runoff election for Republican candidates for Governor will include Lt. Gov. Casey Cagle and Secretary of State Brian Kemp.

Republican candidates for Lieutenant Governor on the runoff ballot will include State Sen. David Shafer and former State Rep. Geoff Duncan.

The Republican runoff for Secretary of State includes candidates State Rep. Brad Raffensperger and former Alpharetta Mayor David Belle Isle.

Democratic runoff

The only race on the Democratic runoff ballot is for State School Superintendent between Otha Thornton and Sid Chapman.

Runoffs are required in Georgia when none of the candidates in the May 22 primary election received more than 50 percent of the vote.

The Democratic and Republican winners of the July 24 runoffs advance to the Nov. 6 general election.

Return to top