2018-05-23 / Front Page

ECHS graduation Saturday

158 seniors, 36 honor graduates will turn tassles Saturday morning

Early County High Class of 2018 Early County High Class of 2018 Early County High graduation exercises will be Saturday, May 26 at 9 a.m. in the Tommy Whitehurst Gymnasium.

Approximately 158 members of the Class of 2018, including 36 honor graduates, will march across the stage to receive their diplomas.

Commencement exercises will begin with the seniors marching in to “Pomp and Circumstance” played by the Early County High Band of Blue.

The Posting of the Colors will be conducted by the ECHS Junior ROTC.

The Pledge to the Flag will be led by honor graduate Carlisha Jaquetta Perry followed by the welcome by honor graduate Ansley Renee Smith. The invocation will be given by honor graduate Jennifer Hope Swofford.

Preceding the introduction of Beta Club seniors by honor graduate Mary Elizabeth Miller, the ECHS Band will perform Robert W. Smith’s “Into the Storm” under the direction of Band Director Landan Frazier.

Students completing the Nationally Certified Pathway program will be introduced by honor graduate Christopher Ryan Williams.

Honor graduate Maria Lourdes Beth Marquez will read the Senior Poem, “Remember the Music.”

Salutatorian Meerah Kamleshkumar Patel will give the Salutatory address.

The ECHS Chorus, directed by Elaine Harlow, will perform Ryan Tedder and Noel Zancanella’s “I Lived.”

Following the musical selection, Valedictorian Courtney Leigh Keith will give the Valedictory address.

Principal Anthony Yarbrough will introduce the honor graduates and present the 2018 senior class.

Senior Class President and honor graduate Berenice Castro will conduct the roll call of seniors and diplomas will be presented by principal Anthony Yarbrough and Superintendent Bronwyn Ragan-Martin, Ed.D.

Following the presentation of diplomas the alma mater will be led by honor graduate Dallas Wayne White. The benediction will be given by honor graduate Dallas Anne Kuhn and the graduates will march out to the recessional music of “Fanfare and Recessional” performed by the Early County High Band.

Graduation Marshals will be Ishmael Aldavera- Flores, Matthew Busby, Kirstyn Green, Skyla Turner and Alanna White.

Graduation Ushers include Charles Doswell, Wade Glass, Luke Jester, Tyner Kilgore, Sabryna Leroy, Dawson Odom, Sharvil Shah, Morgan Slappy and Aaron Yarbrough.

Doors will open for ticket holders from 7:45 a.m. until 8:15 a.m. If seating capacity has not been reached, non-ticket holders will be allowed in from 8:15 a.m. until. Doors will be locked at 8:50 a.m.

Return to top