2018-02-14 / Front Page

68th Chamber banquet

Bradley Grantham passes the gavel to incoming chairperson Bronwyn Ragan- Martin. Bradley Grantham passes the gavel to incoming chairperson Bronwyn Ragan- Martin. Kolomoki State Park’s Camp Hicita was the venue of the Blakely-Early County Chamber of Commerce’s 68th annual membership banquet last week.

The meeting was highlighted by Keynote speaker Morgan Law, executive director of the Georgia Travel Association.

Law shared a Rural Prosperity Presentation developed at a two-day summit hosted by the Georgia Chamber of Commerce in Tifton where topics including poverty and housing, talent and leadership development, rural healthcare, innovative solutions to economic development and regional approaches were discussed.

The following prospective STAR Students were honored: ECHS: Christopher Williams, Dallas Kuhn and Courtney Keith. SGA: Sydney Thompson and Miller Pickle. The Chamber of Commerce and the Blakely Rotary Club co-sponsor the annual STAR program.

New board members Aaron Reichard, Tracey Kirkland, Jennifer Thompson, Steve Singletary and Jody Glass were recognized by Bronwyn Ragan-Martin. Outgoing board members Julia Houston, LeeAnn Dalrymple, Billy Fleming and Bronwyn Ragan-Martin were recognized by Board Chairman Bradley Grantham.

The Thomas B. McDonald Scholarship was presented to Jessica Griggs.

Vicki Kornegay presented the Blakely Hometown Beautification Award to Chick A Dee’s.

A review of the chamber’s activities was presented by President Celia Bostwick.

The program concluded with Grantham passing the gavel to incoming chairperson Bronwyn Ragan-Martin.

Entertainment was provided by the Back Porch Possee.

Return to top