2017-12-13 / Front Page

State names “at risk” schools

A list of 104 Georgia elementary, middle and high schools in the bottom five percent of the state at risk of facing state intervention was recently released by the Governor’s Office of Student Achievement.

The 2017 list of “Turnaround Eligible Schools” includes all schools with a three-year College and Career Ready Performance Index (CCRPI) average below 54.0. It includes schools from 27 districts, which consist of 66 elementary schools, 28 middle schools, and seven high schools.

Provisions for state intervention in failing schools is included under a new state law that allows for staff terminations and even an administrative takeover.

No Early County schools on the list

Schools from Southwest Georgia on the list included Clay County Middle School, six Dougherty County elementary and middle schools, Mitchell County Elementary School, Randolph-Clay Middle School, Terrell County Elementary School.

Schools from the state’s largest school systems on the list included: 16 Atlanta Public Schools, 16 DeKalb County Schools, eight Fulton County Schools, 13 Richmond County Schools, nine Chatham County Schools, eight Bibb County Schools and five Muscogee County Schools.

Return to top